‘Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.’

Some argue that school teachers should not assign any homework to their students, while there are others who believe that it is important for a child’s education. Although homework plays a very beneficial role in improving children academically, it does not give them enough time to pursue extra-curricular activities for self-development.

On the one hand, people believe that homework improves academic results of students. If a student continuously practices the content that is taught to him in school, it will help him in memorizing and implementing it easily. For example, according to a survey conducted by the Indian Education Council, 60% of school toppers attributed their success to completing homework assigned to them by their teachers. However, I do not agree with this view because it is important for children to not be involved in school work all the time and do extra-curricular activities, which helps further develop their overall personality.

On the other hand, many believe that assigning homework after school is detrimental for a child’s development. A student spends a substantial amount of time at school during the day. If he is forced to do more school work at home, he will not have time to pursue other interests such as sports and hobbies, which are equally important for a child’s overall growth. I believe that this view is valid because students can learn a lot of “life-lessons” from these interests, and in the long run, have a positive effect on their lives.

In conclusion, although homework helps in improving a child’s academic result, there are other aspects of development which are equally important, and children need to be given some free time to pursue them.