Age discrimination occurs when a decision Is made on the person’s age. In workplace, these are most often decisions about being employed in the first place, winning promotions or being unfairly dismissed. Should discrimination against old workers be made illegal?

Nowadays, work places are crowded by people of various age groups. These age groups constitute of two main categories - youngsters, with lesser experience and older workers with more experience. However, an unjust balance exists while deciding incentives for employees. This essay will argue that goodies and incentives should not be limited to older employees with extensive experiences rather they should be equally distributed amongst young people. To begin with, youngsters are considered as the backbone and front line of any company, as they possess the energy and drive to excel and boost the production of the company. Therefore, promotions, awards, bonuses etc. extended to this class of employees would not only doubly their morale but also ignite them to work with extra devotion, as the future of the company depends on their input and performance. Moreover, it is the human innate to get praised on every good deed he or she performs and this praisal subsequently proves to be instrumental for professional excelling of an individual. On the other hand, extending of rewards and promotions to the older group of employees would entail demotivation amongst the younger employees, as it would be considered that the higher echelon has reserved all the benefits towards them. Albeit, older employees possess great deal of experience and knowledge; however, owing to their lesser energy levels and being in the last leg of their service they are unable to bear as much as fruitful and beneficial results as compared to hot blooded young employees. Therefore, the higher ups of the company should not limit their decisions towards the older employees but also take into account distribution of requisite incentives among young people in order to boost their morale and increase the efficacy of the company.