Some people feel that there should be a fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others feel that the circumstances of an offence should be taken into account when deciding on a punishment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Although it is believed by the masses that there should be fixed punishments according to the kind of offence for the convicts, the other section of society blames the pressing situations that forces the criminal to do that crime. Personally, I opine that the underlying conditions are the root cause of any illegal activity. This essay will examine both the arguments along with my opinion in the subsequent paragraphs.

To commence with, there are umpteen reasons for opting for a definite kind of penalization to the offenders. Primarily, it is undeniable that adopting this kind of methodology saves precious time and it is also cost-effective to a great extent. To explicate, if a person has done a severe crime such as murder or attempt to killing, certainly considering all the facts that person also has to be punished in the same way. To exemplify, according to an article published on ‘Crime and Justice’ in ‘The Washington post’ by the editor-in-chief Dr. Benjamin Bradlees in June 2019, USA explicitly revealed that many middle-east countries are ranking high in terms of announcing fixed punishments for some designated crimes and eventually utilising time and money more productively in other important aspects. Thus, not only the guilty will be punished in the same way, but also will be greatly benefitted to the court as well as the petitioner.

However, some individuals argue that while sentencing a criminal the causal circumstances also has to be considered from where the felony stems. To substantiate, a punishment for the violent killing planned by a serial killer should not be the same as a murder done for self-defence. For instance, during a robbery in a department if a person commits a crime or kills the criminal, then undoubtedly the whole situation should be considered by the judge before announcing the final verdict. Hence, an analytical approach should be adopted while persecuting the sufferer by the legal authorities. Finally, in my opinion, it is undeniable that a convicted person should be punished by analysing the root causes behind that and the severity of the crime. Although without a doubt any kind of wrongdoing is punishable, there should be a consideration towards the personal circumstances such as poverty and mental health also should be taken into account during the final decision.

In conclusion, although a fixed type of punishment has certain merits, the viewpoint of other group undertaking the situations cannot be overlooked. However, I opine, judgements should undoubtedly be given according to the variant circumstances of criminals and keeping in mind that the aim of punishment to prevent further crimes to happen.