Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

It has been observed that advertising impacts on the buying behavior of consumers. At times it encourages users to buy things that are irrelevant for them whereas in few cases it seems helpful in letting us know about the usefulness of new products that may improve our lives. In my opinion, advertisements are a good source of getting an idea on whats going on in market and how it is going to impact our lives in a positive way.

You can see this common these days that a company is making multiple variants of one products instead of introducing new products. To cater ever changing behaviors of customers, companies are either introducing new products or changing/modifying their existing products to meet customer’s requirements. For instance, you can get dish washing liquids of a same company with different additives just to lure the customers based on their needs. So it is good to know before buying a product that wither this will serve the purpose or not.

Comparative analysis of products is another reason that helps a consumer to make the best buy. Advertisements of different companies for same product gives an idea to customers to choose the best in low or comparative price. For instance, being a consumer, if I have to buy drinking water of two international brands, their advertisement will help me choosing by analyzing their features. It will save my time while I am doing my grocery.

To recapitulate, I must say that advertising a product is always useful for both companies and consumers. It depends on buyer if he wants to open his pockets for companies or spend it wisely.