Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Today, advertising has become major asset of marketing industry. Though some people argue that, advertisements motivate people to purchase unnecessary products while other says that commercial breaks provide us information about new products which are launched in the market. I think, advertisements play a vital role in people’s life by updating their knowledge about variety of products available but, at the same time we cannot ignore its drawbacks.

Firstly, most of the companies use advertises as their marketing strategy to inform their customers about products available in the shops. When Customers see those adverts on television or on internet or in the newspaper, they get close idea about the product. People can compare same category products by watching advertise and they can choose best one as per their requirement. For example, if customer wants to buy some biscuits he can choose it from variety as per his needs. Secondly, when people visit supermarket they can identify the product from the advertisement. An advertisement not only updates customer’s knowledge about goods, but also informs them about Supermarket sales and discounts availability. This allows buyers to shop in their budget.

Commercial breaks have captured almost every aspect of media, which allows everyone to watch it. It influences all age group people but, children are over influenced. Many children demand for toys or object decorated with their favourite characters. I think this is one of the biggest drawbacks. Similarly, many people just believe in advertisement and bring products without its actual nutritious value.

In conclusion, advertising products benefit both company as well as customers. In spite of having some drawbacks advertisements keep updating knowledge of people about new and old products in the market and help people to choose best product.