There are severe social consequences to housing shortages in cities and only the government can solve these problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Can infrastructural planning of a city, to develop a more sustainable environment can solve the problem of scarcity of land for the construction of new houses in cities? As a matter of fact, more often than not it is believed by many a man that inhabitability in big cities due to the shortage of housing space can only be resolved by the government. I completely support the idea because the land in the world is limited and if deforestation is not controlled, the world would become inhabitable for future generations due to lack of oxygen.

Arguably, migration of people to metropolitan cities have not increased in the recent times for no reason. In the modern era, the individuals have entered into big cities for a better lifestyle. Since the planning of the cities is held in the hands of the government, it becomes their duty to promote alternative ways such as building low priced skyscraper apartments to save the sanctity of the environment and provide shelter for the people. A painstaking research by the Harvard University has had been undertaken on the laws enacted by the government of England to save them from the scarcity of land, which revealed as soon as the migrant workers were provided with houses on multi-level buildings at basic prices than the scarcity of the land in the country could be controlled by 51%.

Notwithstanding the brighter side, the trend certainly has its limitations. Given the current state of the legislation in the countries around the world, the government is only equipped to formulate laws and are unable to execute their plans at the grass-root level. Many private companies have come forward to invest in remote areas for setting up factories, which will not only generate work for the individuals but also, it will lower the migration of the people to a more developed city for a better life. For instance, no sooner did a survey conducted by Tesla a leading electric car manufacture, than it was unfolded that building a plant for the production of cars in a remote area will generate 10% employment in the villages. Although, this is not entirely untrue, but the impact is not that severe than assumed.

To conclude, but for any doubt, for proper infrastructure in a city, the government should be held accountable. Therefore, if a balance between developed and developing areas are made by the government, it would lead to a socially stable and professionally enriching lives; lest good outcomes should be far out of reach.