Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about the tertiary subjects that whether they should be opted according to the future's need or out of the individual's choice. However, I believe that it should be up to the person about his majors.

At the outset, technological subjects have their benefits. Firstly, from a personal viewpoint, good career opportunities could be grabbed in the field of science. It is due to the contemporary era that employers tend to provide higher wages to engineers and doctors. For instance, a survey reported that 67% of alumni got their job in the field of Science and Technology, in 2018. Secondly, having got highly paid opportunities, these scientists and doctors have to deposit a huge amount of tax, according to the laws of the particular nation. That amount could be used for the betterment of infrastructure for the local civilization. Lastly, humans are suffering from dire ailments because of contaminated air and water; thus, doctors and scientists can pay their contribution to cure the medical diseases such as asthma, diabetes by their inventions in the foreseeable future.

On the other hand, there are various merits of choosing their subjects in the interested fields because people can achieve excellence. It is because of his interest level that all his physical and psychological energies work collaboratively to excel in his career. Numerous prodigies, in the field of drawing and painting, have proven that human can achieve the heights because of their passion such as MF Hussain in the field of painting. Subjects of arts and craft are imperative for the full development of society. If the world is full of doctors and scientists, our society will leave its vastness. It is only because of art subjects such as music and many more that society can make them stress-free otherwise various complications like depression could happen due to lack of enjoyment.

In conclusion, although the subjects of both science and arts have their positive aspects, in my view, learns should be free to choose their majors to achieve excellence in their fields.