Some people think that the best way to increase road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars or riding motorbikes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Minimizing numbers of incidence have become a difficult job for traffic police in all major cities around the world. A significant number of individuals believe that the supreme way to raise safety on roads can be achieved by an increase in the minimum age requirement for driving vehicles. While age limitation will make roads safer to some extent, I think education on road safety can act as an essential parameter in increasing road safety.

It might be a good idea to increase the minimum age required for driving because of some reasons. Firstly, since younger people are usually less mature and less responsible with their manners, they might not be aware of the importance of following the rules. Therefore, it is reasonable to ban them from travelling on the street to prevent them from breaking the

law and causing accidents. Secondly, as older people are more experienced, they can know how to react quickly to handle dangerous situations on the road, while younger ones might not be able to. To illustrate, if the brakes of a car suddenly stop working, a young driver might panic, and accidents are more likely to occur.

However, other factors like education and awareness on road safety are more important to minimize the number of accidents. Awareness camps on road safety can make people more vigilant while during and including these subjects in school education will certainly benefit the majority of youngsters while driving. For instance, making people aware of preventive maintenance can eliminate the possibilities of machine failure and that ultimately will make the road a safer place to travel.

In conclusion, although, age control is the primary step to increase safety while driving cars, awareness of rules and regulations on safety are the most effective way to decrease highway accidents.