Nowadays many people complain that they have difficulties getting enough sleep.

What problems can lack of sleep cause?

What can be done about lack of sleep?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

In recent times, most people crib about the struggle for sleep. With increase in workload and exposure to technology, people have limited sleep. Lack of sleep can be caused by many factors and has some serious negative impact on human health. One of the most important reason for lack of sleep, as per my belief, is reduced physical activity. Another reason that could be causing lack of sleep is watching television and using mobile phones till late night. Let us further discuss on the same.

First, let us discuss on the problems that sleep deprivation causes. One of the major issues is that it causes irritation. Since the body has not properly rested and is tired therefore, even with the slightest provocation, people get angry. It can cause low concentrations. If there is lack of sleep, people are phased out than attentively working or studying. Another major drawback is elevated high blood pressure. Sleep regulates stress and metabolism in our body. Over repeated lack of sleep can cause hormonal changes which can result in high blood pressure and heart diseases.

Coming to the measures that can be taken to prevent lack of sleep, doctors often recommend to not use any device which has blue rays. They believe that blue rays block the hormone responsible for making body sleep. Another measure that can help in sleep deprivation is drinking milk before bedtime. It has been proven that humans do not have the enzymes to digest milk. Therefore, when we drink milk, major portion of the blood is circulated to stomach help in digestion. Thereby, making the body drowsy. One of the most effective way to handle sleep deprivation is physical activity. It is recommended from various studies that one should perform as much humanly possible physical activity in the day so that body gets tired. If the body is tired, then there will be lesser chances of sleep deprivation.