Some people think that illegal internet downloads are having a negative effect on the music industry. Others feel that they have little or no impact on the artist. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Even though a considerable number of people are of the view that online downloads that are not legalized have a deteriorating impact on the music industry, others purport that such maneuvers have no significant effect on the artists. However, I believe that illegal downloads on the internet do influence the artists and the industry to some extent.

To begin with, some individuals side with the view that illegal internet downloads have no repercussions on the musicians and the singers as they believe that these downloads are of poor quality and does not provide satisfaction to the listeners and the viewers. Moreover, a recent poll in England depicted that only a mere 10 percent listeners obtained music from unethical sources because of the poor acoustics. This shows that the music industry is hardly affected from unauthorized downloads.

Conversely, others hold the view that illegal downloads do have damaging effects on the music industry and I agree with this.Firstly, an artist and the people associated with the music works extremely hard to perfect a tune, rythym and the notes. It takes months of practice and dedication to synchronize a piece of music and not to mention the vast amount of funds required to achieve this. Also, all this hard work is paid back directly in the form of monetary gain through the online downloads as the artist gets an incentive from the success of the music which is measured by the total downloads from legal sources on the internet. Therefore, when people download the music illegally , it steals the opportunity from the musicians and the artists involved to reap profit from it. Consequently affecting the music industry and summing to huge financial losses along with belittling the individuals involved. T- series, for example, which is a huge distributor of Indian music, suffered a massive loss in the year 2018 due to illegal downloads.

In summary, while people may differ in their opinions, I believe that the music industry and the artist does bear the consequences of illegal internet downloads.