Some people think that it should be compulsory for people to retake their driving test every five years.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this?

These days a vast number of vehicles drive around the cities. This leads to a great deal of problems on the roads. To deal with them some police officers advocate that resiting driving test once in five years should be mandatory. In this essay, I will consider both positive and negatives sides of this approach.

Let us begin with the benefits of this solution. First of all, it can encourage drivers to review traffic rules regularly. People tend to forget regulations on the road while driving so they frequently have a car accident. They would not have such situations if they standed a chance to look through the rules on a regular basis, so retaking the mandatory driving test once in five years supposedly helps them in it. Secondly, it can let drivers learn about updates. For example, many drivers in Kazakhstan are unaware of alterations in traffic regulations, which happen once in a while and leads to disputes over fines, but this new approach in testing will seemingly help avoid such confrontations between drivers and police officers. Therefore, after analyzing these advantages, it is clear that resiting driving test makes sound sense.

Nevertheless, some politicians claim that this innovative approach has many drawbacks. To begin with, it will be an extra burden on the country budget. For instance, in Kazakhstan the current driving test occurs every ten years, and it fits in the budget, but if the new approach passes, they will have to seek money at the expense of other aspects of life, while will definitely create an resentment in society. Another disadvantage is that it can result in unnecessary inconvenience. This approach will lead to a loss in income, since drivers will have to take a few weeks off to prepare and resit the test every five years. On top of that, their employers will also experience discomfort every five years, because they will have to seek for a replacement while the worker is not at work due to this compulsory driving test. Hence, after considering all these disadvantages, it is evident that this approach also pose many problems.

In conclusion, although taking a driving every five years on the obligatory basis has plenty of advantages, it also has many drawbacks.