Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport while other people think that mental strength is more important Discuss both views and give your own opinion
In order to achieve success in sport, some people argue that it is more important to be strong
mentally than physically. While no sportsperson can reach the top without the mental qualities
of determination and dedication, I believe that the basis for success must be physical strength.
On the one hand, all sports trainers recognise the necessity of a strong mental attitude. Firstly,
if trainers cannot foster a competitive spirit, or even a win-at-all-costs attitude, the sportspeople
who they train may lack the necessary motivation to work hard and succeed. Hours spent training
in the gym, for example, may be repetitive and boring, and aspiring athletes need to stay focused.
Secondly, in any sport there will be disappointments and failures, and it is essential to be mentally
strong to overcome these and achieve one’s goals. In particular, in the world of professional
sport, where news coverage places too much value on sport, it is impossible to have a laid-back
attitude and still succeed.
On the other hand, physical strength must be the basis of all success in sport. While most people
take up sport simply to get into shape or to keep fit, those who wish to become successful must
be physically strong. Obvious examples are sports such as weightlifting, boxing or judo. Yet all
other sports also demand physical strength for stamina and endurance, even sailing or horse-
riding. Some sports stars, such as the world-famous professional cyclist Lance Armstrong, have
even used illegal substances, like performance-enhancing drugs, in order to reach and maintain
top physical condition, risking their careers.
In conclusion, both physical and mental strength are necessary to become successful in sport, but
it is impossible to succeed without being physically strong.