Some people think that University students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Life is full of choices and no one should be denied the right to choose whatever they want especially when it comes to what to study at the University. Unfortunately, many think that undergraduates should only be allowed to undertake science and technology based courses because of their future prospects.

Every student envisage a good job upon graduation, in order not to have their hope dashed, some people advise that students should take up courses that guarantee this expectation. According to them all tertiary institution courses do not weigh the same in the labour market. Apart from in-demand jobs, they believe that the assurance of a well paying employment at the end of University life will spur the students to put in their best in academics so as to come out in flying colours. A good grade in such a high grade course will make the job come even faster.

A good job at the end of studies is a "good enough reason" but let us look at the big picture. The place of passion in studying a course and of course job is very important. People that follow their hearts in choosing a subject of study have that inner drive that see them through. The zeal will eventually pay off in their studies. In the labour market, self drive is what get the job done not just the good grades and subject of studies. In addition, those that study their choice course have been proven to contribute more to their organizations. To them it is not just about the pay, it is their life, it is what they believe in.

To conclude, it is best to allow people choose their path of study in institutions of higher learning as the passion they have for the course will not only make the studies worthwhile but also assure a pleasurable work-life in future