Space exploration is a luxury that we cannot afford. Instead of spending billions of dollars on space programs, governments should use this money to fight global problems such as poverty, disease and climate change. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge. Write atleast 250 words.

Learning new things are always good – but learning on the cost of compromising major issues will be considered as stupidity. Aforementioned statement about focusing on poverty, medical assistance and making this world a beautiful place to live by working on the environment can draw anyone’s attention on the importance of these necessary aspects of life. I strongly agree with the point that instead of spending billions in exploration of space, we must focus on the bigger issues that a majority of population is facing.

Almost one third or more of this world’s population is spending their lives below the poverty line. There are people who starved for several days and don’t have enough food for them or their families. There are water crises all over the world which needs our attention more than exploring the outer space. In Africa, there are places where people are forced to drink muddy water which causes epidemic stomach problems.

Same is the case with medical assistance. The amount governments are investing in such programs, can be used to find cure of expensive diseases like cancer, HIV etc. as hundreds of thousand people died every year due to these diseases. In addition to this, there are countries where people cannot even bare the cost of cure for normal diseases which eventually become life taking in most of the cases. Helping people in getting such services will serve the humanity in a better way than to send a team of scientist in space for research.

On the contrary, with every passing day, our world is facing issue of global warming and pollution which is making this world unsafe for all of us. Government should spend on educating the people on how to make this world a better place to live by protecting if from pollution free.

To recapitulate, I must say that by overcoming all above stated problems, we can make this world a place of peace and harmony for each and every one of us.