Sugar consumption is too harmful. Some say it is governments responsibility to limit sugar intake, while others say it's individual who are responsible.

Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

Consumption of sugar can cause pernicious implications on human health. Owing to this, few deem that on order to mitigate the usage of sugar, authorities should be accountable, whereas others think that every person should be responsible for their own sugar intake. Although, states can levy heavy taxes as well as public campaigns to reduce the consumption of sugar, I believe that it is peoples' morale responsibility to do the same.

On the one hand, higher taxes should be imposed by the governments on different products which contain large amount of sugar. As a result, people will discourage to eat those food items because of its expensive prices. For example, in the Great Britain, chocolates prices are sky-rocketing due to various taxes; hence, the consumption of chocolates has been decreased drastically. In addition to that, public awareness campaigns should be run by the authorities regarding the deterrent effects of over-consumption of sugar. Consequently, more people will get aware with the menace concomitant with eating sugar. However, I reckon the notion of taking responsibility of consuming sugar by an individual on themselves.

On the other hand, there are several plausible reasons to bolster the credence that people should take care of themselves. Firstly, people should understand that over-consumption of sugar can cause diabetes as well as heart related problems. To halt this situation, they should curb their sugar usage. Secondly, they should adopt other alternatives of sugar such as, sugar-free products which cause mere detrimental effect on their fitness. Finally, people should do health check-up regularly, ultimately, the will alter their diet as per the instructions given by dietician. Therefore, I concur with the thought of limiting consumption of sugar by public only.

To recapitulate, although authorities can curtail the intake of sugar by implementing exorbitant taxes as well as by organizing awareness seminars regarding the dangers associated with the consumption of sugar, I bolster the notion that people should take care of themselves because there are other important issues which should be addressed first by the states.