Using a computer every day can have more negative than positive effects on your children.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the modern age, children have access to computers on a daily basis. Although this kind of exposure might have some positive impacts but the damaging effects on both their physical and mental health, are more severe which outweighs the positive ones. This essay will discuss about the negative aspects.

Staring at the screen for hours at time and every day causes several physical problems. Children become less active as they find enjoyment in the computer. In addition, the radiation from the monitors damages the eye nerves resulting in poor vision. These effects slowly accumulates over the years and become bigger problems in later life. Become prone to diseases like heart disease, gastric problems, obesity, stroke or cancer. In a recent study, a comparison between sitting before computers and health diseases showed that the longer children are exposed to computers are directly proportional to having these diseases earlier in life.

However, the effects that it has on the mental state of the children are no less. When the youngsters spend more time every day before a computer their social life slowly become extinct.Their emotional development is also impaired which slowly leads them to become depressed and lonely as adults. They fail to communicate normally or express their feelings like normal people. Some even develop self-destructive behavior like suicide or drug addiction.

In a nutshell, I firmly believe though there could be possibilities of some positive impacts of children using computers everyday but the drawbacks, physically and emotionally, are more concerning and dangerous to be overlooked.