The world would be a better place if we all spoke the same language. Do you agree?

Nowadays, with the rapid growth of integration and globalization among countries as well as the strong development of science and technology in general and the internet in particular, people can easily interconnect and communicate with each other in terms of tourism, goods exchange, etc. Although a vision of the whole world sharing the same language is completely possible, in my opinion, a common language will threaten the loss of culture and identity.

Firstly, a common language would mean there are no language barriers. According to some people, if humanity uses the same language, it will reduce distrust and hatred among peoples. Because language is a piece of many wonderful things that make up humanity, besides areas such as music, painting, cuisine and regional culture. Not only that, using the common language will open up many opportunities for learning and working, relationships between people, or countries together.

However, the undeniable truth is that those suspicion and hatred have not only decreased but also tended to increase. That is only theoretically true and the reality is that we are still witnessing huge disagreements and conflicts within the nations such as the Middle East, North Korea, and even regional discrimination, which is still extremely common within Vietnam.

Furthermore, the use of common language raises concerns that it will cause "linguistic diversity" to be lost. The reason is that language is the characteristic of each country and has many ties to culture, family and even personal identity. Loss of a language means the loss of an important part of a culture. For many people, learning a common language is to "upgrade" themselves for the future, but using their native language is the connection between them and the past.

In conclusion, English, Chinese, or any other language can take turns dominating world culture, but one thing is completely sure: people remain loyal to their native language, no matter how complicated and outdated it is. Because language is not only a means of communication but also a culture, a specific color for each nation, each individual, and it is so important that we can not almost eliminate that.