1

The world has changed thoroughly during the past fifty years. It seems that nothing essential can be conveyed by grandparents because they lived a completely different life from today. However, as far as I am concerned, it should depends which kind of advice the grandparents suggest.

For advice associated with values and perspectives about life, grandparents can give helpful advice. There are always some factors that will not change with the time flowing, virtues and praiseworthy personalities such as honesty and kindness are parts of them. Grandparents who own plentiful interesting experience can use vivid stories to impress their grandchildren how essential of these virtues are. Since their own experience are so funny, they have greater odds of attracting young generations to take in their advice. In addition, grandparental love truly exists. It is not an odd thing that a child prefer grandparents more and would like to be close to them. Thus, grandparents advice can be more useful than others because young children love them and would like listening to them. Since young generations have not already built up their values, grandparents who experience more have deeper comprehension on this world can give life advise to help grandchildren to establish their own values towards this world.

For other advice, however, we should admit that grandparents’ idea may not so helpful because they have less ways to receive information. When grandchildren face a problem, they desire a piece of useful advice to solve the problem. For grandparents, the more information they have, the more likely they are to make better recommendations. However, grandparents have poor ability to obtain information, since they are not familiar with the ways to receive information in nowadays such as the search engine. Grandchildren who know various ways to receive information even have more information than their grandparents. How can grandparents who own less information give useful advice to their grandchildren? Therefore, grandparents have no idea to give useful suggestions to their grandchildren because they cannot receive enough information.

To sum up, we can not deny that grandparents can give useful life advice to their grandchildren from their plentiful experience, on the other hand, we should admit that they do not have ways to obtain enough information to give helpful advice to grandchildren in nowadays.