AGREE OR DISSAGREE?

CHILDREN SHOULD NOT HAVE TO WORK OR HELP WITH HOUSEHOLD TASKS; THEIR ONLY RESPONSIBILITY SHOULD BE TO STUDY.

In my view life is not free. You must pay for everything and it does not make a change whether you are an adult or a child. Everyone must do something in their life and surely as a member of a family there will be so many things that each member is responsible for doing it. No matter how old you are, you must do something to pay back for what you have got from your family before. And here is two reasons why I think in this way.

Firstly, children will be more responsible in future. There is a well know said which says even reaching to the top of a mountain starts with one simple step. I believe that it is the same in life. If you want to do something big in the future and take an important role, you must start role taking by doing some simple tasks. In this way you will learn about being responsible for whatever you must do or you have done. If children do some simple works at home; for example, if they clean up their room by their own, they will learn that there are some works that will be done if only they do that and no one else will be responsible for that. also children will learn that all of their works will be evaluated by others and if they do not do their work in a good way they must accept the thing which will happen in the future in the sequence. I do not mean that we must punish children for not doing their work in the best way, I just want to say that children must learn each action they do will have some results and sequences. Some of these results will be good and unfortunately some of them will be bad. I remember when I was six years old my mother told me to clean up my room. I just came to my room and pretended that I am cleaning up but when she came to my room and saw I did not do my work she said “ok, we will not go to the park this evening” and I think it was the worst punishment for a child. It is not too bad but it can teach children to be responsible for their work, in other way they will miss something nice.

Secondly, doing some household tasks will teach some lessons about life. Maybe it seems strange in the first sight but it is real. If children be asked to do some household tasks they will learn that each person must do something to pay back for everything he/she had got before. In my view, life is not that much kind to give you so many things for free. It will take something and gives you back something else. Children by doing household tasks will learn that they can be a positive member of the family and have a good and positive effect on the family. I remember the first time that my father asked me to go out and buy a loaf of bread I said to myself “wow, now you are a lady who can help others and people can ask you for a help.” It was a really nice feeling that I even now remember it.

To cut the long story short, in my view, doing household tasks will help children to learn so many different things in an easy way and also can give them this positive feeling that they can have a role and do something for someone. It can help them to grow their self-confidence and believe that no matter how much young they are; they can be a positive person for the world.