Benefits of cloud seeding

The reading article provides theoretical background on a method of reducing the amount of harmful for crops in the United States hail called cloud seeding. The silver iodide is being discarded from airplanes on storm clouds, facilitating a production of snow instead of hail. The speaker, however, contradicts the point of view that this is a beneficial method.

First of all, the author brings up certain laboratory experiments as evidence for the effectiveness of this method. He claims that the silver iodide indeed transforms water vapor from hail to snow, even despite the temperature of it, which is close to the freezing point. Nonetheless, the speaker argues that this element merely prevents any kind of precipitations. As a result, this can run the risk of causing drought.

In addition, evidence from Asia is mentioned. While the author states that cloud seeding was effective for urban areas in some Asian countries, the speaker assumes that this is not relevant for the United States. In his opinion, polluted air in that region creates favorable conditions for cloud seeding to work. It will not be advantageous for non-polluted farming areas of the United States.

Finally, local studies were also conducted. The reports directly monitored a decrease of hail in the central United States due to cloud seeding compared to other regions. The speaker stands for the opinion that the study is rather unconvincing as it was based on a mere coincidence occurred that particular year in that specific area.