Do you agree or disagree with the following?

The extended family( grandparent, cousions, aunt and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

There is no shortage of opinion on whether the extended family has the same importance now as it had in the past. Many people believe that they are not important. However, In my opinion, I think that all our relatives are important. I feel this way for three main reasons which, I will explore in the following paragraphs.

First of all, When tough situations arrive it is the family that helps you the most. Whenever, there is a problem or we need advice most of the people ask help or advice from their relatives rather than any outsider. Grandparents and our other family member know us very well and they know what is best for us and helps us accordingly. I have to admit my opinion is profoundly influenced by my own experience. You see, Five years ago, My brother wanted to go aboard to pursue his master and needed help with it. My cousion also went aboard before him so he helped him with the process. My grandfather even provided financial help to my father as he had some of his saving left. As a result, my brother now studies in one the best universities in the US. If my father and brother would have not recieved the help, It would have never been possible to do this. For this reason, I think extended family is very important as they are always ready to help you.

Secondly, Many occassions are celebrated with families as they increase the value of the ceremony and also the fun. There are a lot of occasions that involves the participation of relatives. Being close to the family increase the enjoyment. My own experience is a compelling example of this. I used to live away from my hometown and would never come home for the festival of Rakshbandhan to tie rakhi to my brother. I would just courier him the Rakhi. I used to be upset that whole day because my other sister would tie rakhi to my brother and I was left out. My brother and cousions surprised me once on the Rakshabandh as they came to my hostel and that was the best day of my life. Moreover, we also played various game and celebrated the festival together after a long time so, it was fun. The example clearly demonstrates how important family is as they add to your happiness and also helps you enjoy different occasions

Thirdly, Families inclucate moral values which helps us to be a responsible individual. Grandparents and our elders are more experienced and have faced the world. They teach children how to behave in the society and teaches life morals and values. They are great to learn life lesson from. For instance, My grandfather used to always tell me story about his life, his struggles. He used to read me books based on moral values and teach me how to respect someone. Today also, If I do something wrong he corrects me and reminds me of my value. If it were not for him, I would have not been the person that I am today.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that extended family is very important now also. This is because they are always there to support you, they are major part of occasions and add fun to them and, they teach you values.