Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Friend as an essential part of each person plays a vital rule in everyone's life. Although some people believe that maintaining a friendship with close friends through all life is more important for happiness than making new friends, I subscribe to the opposite view. I substantiate my belief by providing some supportive reasons that are elucidated in the following paragraphs.

First, making new friends provides an opportunity to gain new information and experiences. To be more specific, everyone has a unique personality describing his magnificent character. As a matter of fact, people experience and learn various skills and situations, providing them with pure knowledge and wisdom in their lives. As a result, making new friends in our lives provides a situation to become familiar with other special skills and perspectives, giving us a new perception with regard to life. My own experience with this is a perfect example. When I was a freshman, I had been a naive and unexperienced person at that time, when I entered university without any wisdom. But after a while, I made new friends, who were second-year students, which get me more insight about my duties and future job. If I did not make new friends at the university, I would not have an opportunity to improve my perspective about jobs and duties.

Second, practicing social skills is possible by making new friends. Indeed, making new friends helps people to practice skills that they need to improve their social interaction. By greeting and communicating with the other, people can learn and practice skills, for example, body language. Take for instance, a student who is looking for a job after graduation. If he does not practice enough body language skills by making new friends at the university, he would not have the ability to impress the interviewer so he or she cannot find a proper job.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that making new friends are crucial for everyone to be happy in their lives. This is because making new friends gives people a new insight and because new friends provide a situation to practice skills that they need to communicate effectively with others.