Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? all jobs should provide some opportunity for physical exercise.

Technological changes are accelerating, and they have the largest impact on workplaces. Nowadays most of the jobs get done by computers or similar smart devices in which requires long hours of sitting in front of them. Additionally, the more developed a society is, the longer hour of work is needed so one can meet all the expectations, therefore, maintaining of work-life balance can become a struggle to an individual.

Companies providing opportunities for physical activities during working hours can be helpful and contribute to their employee’s satisfaction because they feel that they have accomplished more than just doing what their job requires and they are staying healthy. As an example, Microsoft which is a tech company and that means it is required for its employees to sit at their computers a lot, has implemented 10 mins stretching reminders on their calendar, as a result they go on breaks and can stretch their legs. Accordingly, employees who are performing these workouts are less likely to suffer from any kind of muscle stiffness or pain which can diminish productivity or increase the chances of them taking sick time off. Even though, some might assume these small workout breaks are reducing the working hours, I think they can influence the outcome positively.

Additionally, if you are a busy individual who need to work more than 8 hours a day, and you care about your physical health, having a stable work-life balance can sometimes be problematic. Hence, possibilities for working out in work hours can help with keeping the balance. For example, in order for me to get my regular exercise I need to get up at 5:00am everyday so I can workout before I start working, however, if I knew I can schedule something in the middle of the day with the rest of my co-workers, I could get more sleep and also did not need to worry about the fact that I am the only one not working in the middle of the day.

As a conclusion, in my opinion working out even for a small time, specially if it is offered from the job can reduce one’s stress levels, increase the satisfaction and the feeling of productivity and this can result in happier employees therefore more jobs get done leading to more profit for the company.