Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All school teachers should be required to take courses every five years to update their knowledge

Nowadays, it becomes a heated debate whether school teachers needed to be up-date every five years or not. Some people hold the opinion that it is more important for teachers to increase their knowledge and information, however others have different attitudes. In my opinion, school teachers play a significant role in our society in a way that how they teach or present information will drastically impact the young generation. Some programs such as taking a course during their work can be considered as a specific method to help both teachers and students. In the following I will elaborate more on this issue.

First, with the development of science and technology, the world is no longer what is used to be. These days, most jobs require people who are educated and have good job skills. As far as I am concerned, by taking some courses teachers will be more involved in recent scientific topics, and it certainly will have positive effects on students’ education progresses. Todays, Students easily access to social media, and this prompts them receive more information, which would lead to raising a lot of questions in their minds. Answering these countless questions requires a teacher with up-to-date and scientific information. For example, I used to be a teacher and I participated in a training course. It was about up-to-date research topics that students were more willing to do. That course completely changed my perspectives, and I considered the situations from my students’ attitudes and topics that were really interesting for them.

Second, in taking courses teachers can benefit from wide variety of opportunities in a way that they are able to be familiar with others' perspectives and attitudes. If the teacher does not consider a forward-looking process in his or her work, undoubtedly it will have destructive effects on students. For example, students will become one-dimensional and limited adults in the future. In such circumstances, they never can tackle any obstacles and barriers in future life. In my opinion, it would be very dangerous for our education system that a teacher not to receive any training during his or her working period. Training courses will enhance teachers’ attitudes, and perspectives, and broaden their horizon of visions.

In conclusion, regarding the points mentioned above, not only does taking courses comprise a wide variety of advantages for students’ education progress, but also it includes important influences on the next generations. Considering the significant features of teacher improvement programs, it seems that, it is a prominent duty for the government in order to set up such programs to support both teachers and students.