TPO 35- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, cars play a significant role in our lives and many people are dependent on them. Although humans are highly affiliate with cars, prominent issues such as global warming, and green environment have been so important that they can reduce this dependence. They have attracted people’s attention in a way that changed people’s attitudes and perspectives to reduce some disadvantages effects of using more car in our world. On the other hand, using a private car has a lot of costs that have made people intended to public transportation. In the following, I will elaborate more on this issue.

Firs, today, people have been informed about negative consequences of producing lots of cars and their movements around the world. In recent years, air pollution, and traffic jam are of the most substantial issues that people deal with. In this regard, reducing the number of cars, which commute in street and road, can be considered as a specific solution. For example, the Environment Agency said: ‘’reducing car traffic and using public transportation such as the subway could make a huge difference in the environment over the next few years’’. As global efforts have been made in this area, we will expect to see a significant reduction in the number of cars in the coming years.

Second, according to high price of parking lots, increasing in cost of gasoline, and wasting time in commuting it completely reasonable to use public transportation instead of personal cars. For example, when I want to reach a certain destination with my car, I should consider traffic and spend a lot of time for my commute. However, using public transportation guarantees that I will reach my destination on time. Due to all these conditions, the number of cars will have decreased at the end of the next twenty years and public transportation will be further expanded.

In conclusion, regarding the points mentioned above, it seems that, people’s awareness in one side and specific advantages of public transportation from other side would lead to decreasing in number of cars. The role of governments has been very colorful in terms of improving public transportation, as well as global organizations in public information.