Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In order to succeed, you should be more like others than be different from everyone else.

Throughout history, humans have made their all-out efforts to improve or be successful in their life. Although the meaning of success is varied from person to person, people have tried numerous ways to reach it. For some people, being wealthy is the triumph, while others believe that success means being happy in life. Whether we are in the first group or second group, the noteworthy question then is whether we should be like others or differ from people to succeed. It is my conviction that only if we are different from others will we reach the triumph. In what follows, I will shed light on my reasons for this viewpoint.

Success is the goal which few people can reach, otherwise the meaning of it will be changed. Inspirational stories of victorious persons such as Bill Gates, Steve Jobs, etc. demonstrate that they do things which are a sheer of waste of time in terms of people because successful people even researched in the field which had not existed in that era. To exemplify, because gold is the scarce metal, it is more precious than other metals such as copper or steel which are abundant, so gold has been used as decorative objects. I relate this example to real life to explain this idea. Were the average scorce of math exam X, successful student would get more than it. In other words, being triumphant needs to be unique and have distinguishing characteristics to be worth. Consequently, only a few people who achieved the valuable and unreachable goal were named as successful persons. As a result, should we imitate other people, we will be like the normal people of which victorious people are at the top.

We are not exposed to challenging and competitive fields to succeed unless we choose areas in which few people are working. Nowadays, innumerable people are living in the world, and we unintentionally or intentionally compete with them for being chosen in desire jobs, entering the ideal university, etc., so the more people are in an area or activity, the more efforts we should make to succeed. Therefore, Being like others logically aggregate the situation for success. As my personal experience, I could readily be accepted in the university in which knowing the French language was its requirement, for most people can comprehend the English language rather than speaking French. Had I tried to enter an English-based university, I would not have been accepted so easily, and I should have been better than so many people to have gotten that position. Consequently, in order to succeed, we have to be unique and have an appealing quality which people rarely have.

In conclusion, Having distinctive quality and not being like others is the best way to succeed because not only is success achievement of a particular aim which is unreachable in people’s minds, but also we face less competitive opponents. I suggest that persons who want to be at the peak of success in their careers, life, studies, etc. read the biographies of entrepreneurs to be encouraged, but it does not mean that we should behave exactly like them.