Your friend plans to reduce his living expense. He has following three options

1. Find a roommate to share the room to reduce costs

2. Buy fewer expensive electronic devices, like smart phones

3. Cook more at home (buy fewer expensive food items and not go to restaurants

which do you recommend? Why?

With an increasing number of people flooding into big cities, high cost of living standard has become problems for them and thus developing ways to cut down the living expense is extremely necessary for them, including curtailing the expense for housing, cutting down the budget for electronic devices and spending less on food in restaurants. From my perspective, finding another roommate is a desirable option for reducing the living expense.

First, cooking more at home is laborious and won’t help to reduce the cost at all. As a matter of fact, to prepare a meal, one has to take time to go to the market to purchase ingredients and spend much time on cleaning up and cutting up vegetables.Meanwhile, the food processed in the restaurants is not that expensive, which covers only a small portion of one’s daily expenditure. In this case, simply cutting down the expense of food won’t lessen heavily economic burden.

Second, curtailing the spending on electronic device won’t enable people to save money. Granted, a single electronic can be expensive, reckoning to hundreds of dollars. However, as a matter of fact, there is no need for people to frequently purchase newest electronic devices since the services provided by them are almost the same. In other words, hardly do a majority of people make a purchase for it. Even if someone desire to update their smart phones, such purchase only occurs once yearly or even longer. As a result, the money paid for them actually plays a little part in their yearly spent money.

Compared with two former options, sharing the bills for the house with another one can loosen the economic pressure heavily. In fact, it is not uncommon that a large portion of citizens nowadays fail to own their own houses. In other words, they have to rent apartments or houses for shelters. To live there, they are required to pay for the rent cost nearly every month and such expenditure can impose a heavy burden on their budget. Therefore, with someone sharing the same shelter, the living expense can be trimmed and thus relieve tenants from heavy economically pressure. My personal experience can be a compelling example of it. The last time when I studied in a university located in Shenzhen, I rented an nearby apartment so that I could spend less time on commuting. There are three rooms in the apartment and I only lived in one of them. However, I was required to pay four hundred dollars for all these three rooms even though two of them were empty. To achieve budget cuts, I found another student who also needed to find a room near university. After he moved to the apartment, the past high rent dropped sharply since I was required to pay half of the original cost while all of the rooms could be utilized, which enabled me to save money for something of greater significance.

In conclusion, in terms of cutting down living expense effectively, finding another one to share the rent for housing is highly recommended.