Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In my opinion, the government should spend more money in support of athletics. The returns of investment on the sport are much more than art. I addition, supporting athletics and sports teams are more exciting and attractive for young people and increase the willingness to exercise and workout programs in the society.

First, the government annually allocate specific budgets to several sections especially the sports section. However, this section may have considerable returns in comparison to the other sections like the art section. Since numerous tournaments are held throughout the year and in each of the tournaments many prizes are awarded to athletics, the prizes and cups could be a major source of national income in a country. there are several examples to prove this idea. The U.S. and China are usually are ranked as first and second countries in the Olympic games. My country in Asia also take part in the Olympics and also Asian games and the athletics usually win a lot of individual and group prizes. In each case, the government who finance the athletics are the beneficiary section and acquire the returns of the investment. On the contrary, the art section is not a valuable source when in a dollars and cents viewpoint. That is because many people are not interested in artistic creations and market is rarely profitable in museums or art auctions.

Second, the sports section is an exciting section for a large proportion of the people in most countries. People usually investigate the national teams' situations and news and are concerned about the succeeding of their national team. For example, the when the Soccer National Team of Iran was attending in Russia for the 2018 Football World Cup, many people in Iran were just talking about the winning of the national team. Another example is the Olympic games and continental games in each continent. People count the medals and prizes and hope that their country acquires a good rank in the Olympic. All the accomplishments are only possible through the support of the government. By contrast, nobody usually asks about the art section or art museums and actually few people are concerned about the art.