Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Arts including extraordinary paintings and movies can inspire, motivate and encourage people mentally, while athletics provide energy, confidence and reputation with people. Therefore, it is hasty to give priority to either of them, and from my perspective government should spend equal money on arts and sports.

To begin with, art can exert positive effects on relaxing and freeing people from the outside world. When people enjoy a well-known painting in a museum, they can get involved in the artist's mind and feel the magic power from the picture, which enables them to forget the trouble in daily life. For instance, at an art gallery, people are attracted by the mystery atmosphere from the paintings and then they gradually slow their breath and pace. In this highly competitive society, those art museums are required for their special function. Busy workers can get recharged and hardworking students can become motivated in those art museums.

In addition, sports also play a vital role in society. Firstly, state-sponsored Olympic teams could bring more reputation about the local city. If a basketball team can win the first prize in the national competition, people from all over the country will be quickly familiar with the state, which may also contribute to more investment in other fields, boosting the local economy. For example, in China, Xinjiang Province, though remote and far from the capital city, is famous for its basketball team in national basketball competition every year. With support from government, such as investment in facilities and providing players with high salary, Xinjiang Team can be incredibly competitive and attracts plenty of attention in every competition. And thus, fruits in Xinjiang can attain attention of buyers in other provinces.

Furthermore, athletics can enhance people’s consciousness of exercising. People can be greatly motivated when they see players representing the country win the champion. Although not everyone is capable of beating other athletics, the spirit of working inspires the whole country. People could form a good habit of working out in the gym or jogging in the park and there is an excellent chance that they will ask their kids to play sports after school to keep healthy.

In a nutshell, sports and art both benefit local people and the whole society and equal money should be spent on both fields.