Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to use printed material such as books and articles to do research than it is to use the internet. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People’s mean of searching for information varies. Everyone wants to use a way that can help them find accurate data to support their document. Personally, I believe that surfing the web is an effective way to do research than using printed materials. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, it is easy to look for what we want on the internet, which avoids waste of time. People, specifically students, are very busy during their college life. Many of them are international students who do not only study in the university but also work to pay for their expenses. As a result, they sometimes find it difficult to do their assignment because they cannot manage their time. Thus, using internet to do their research is the best way. My cousin’s experience demonstrates that this is true. Two years ago, my cousin’s professor assigned him a presentation regarding latest discoveries of astronomers in our galaxy. Actually, my cousin was a junior in Brown University. He had to work in a restaurant to support himself and to pay for his books. The day when his teacher assigned him the homework, he had to prepare the restaurant for a party. Hence, he didn’t have sufficient time to read books and articles. Thanks to internet. He successfully prepared his presentation in thirty minutes right after he arrived home at 1:00 a.m. The next day, when I asked him how was the presentation, he replied: “Unbelievable! I couldn’t have made it without the internet.”

Secondly, internet provides us with updated materials, which can make our research more concrete. Nowadays, teachers and professors pay close attention to what a student provide: they want the data of the assignments to be accurate. Moreover, many of them even give low marks due to lack of validity of the data. Hence, students have to support their writings with an accredit information in order to achieve high mark. For instance, last year my history teacher told me to do some research about extinction of dinosaurs. At first, I tried to find some information from my encyclopedia. However, I found that it was published in 2009-ten years ago! Then, I decided to use internet to do my research. Fortunately, I was able to find the recent investigations about dinosaurs from National Geographic, and I wrote them down in my notebook. One week later when results were announced, I saw that I scored 10 out of 10.

In short, I am of the opinion that using internet in order to do research is better than using books. This is because it is facilitated and helps in time management, and this is because it gives us updated materials which can assist in getting high marks.