Some parents offer their school-age children money for each grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

It is a common wish of parents that their children can study hard and achieve outstanding grades in examinations. Therefore, some parents try stimulating their school-age children by granting them money for each excellent grade they gain. Unarguably it is not only a wise and effective way to help students focus on their study but also a precious opportunity for children to learn how to manage their money when they grow up though it seems to be somewhat costly.

The money offered when children perform well in exams stimulate them to study hard and the knowledge they gain from study eventually equip them with skills that render them highly employable. Generally speaking, the famous companies favor graduates who have gained high GPA in schools and universities since they believe those students have learned enough knowledge and will create significant value for the company. For instance, most investment banks, such as Morgan Stanley, Goldman Sachs, and Bank of America, only recruit students with grades better than 90% of their peers. It is not because these companies are particular but just because they would like the candidates to be the best.

What's more, offering money to school-age children can contribute to the education of money management. Nowadays, the financial market has been more advanced than ever in the past and it is necessary for people to learn how to manage their money. On the contrary, those who have no idea about money management may be easily involved in frauds and lose all their savings.

Admittedly, offering children a certain amount of money based on their performance in school is somewhat costly, especially for the parents who has several children and each one of them perform excellently in school. However, the benefits it can bring clearly overweigh the economic expenses it can cause. It is because the money given to children is not like the money spent on impressing dresses and fancy cars. It is more like an investment, which can bring fruitful return if the children become a success 10 or 20 years later because of outstanding grades in school and mastery of money management skills. In that case, the parents may receive a considerable amount of money for retirement from their children and be able to travel around the world and enjoy spectacular scenes of nature.

As the previous discussion has demonstrated, giving money to children for each high mark they get in the final exams brings numerous positive effects. It not only helps children to be an outstanding employee after graduation but also help them learn the money management skills.