Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Overall, the widespread use of the internet has a mostly positive effect on life in today’s world.

Nowadays, the internet is one of the most crucial elements of modern life. Internet of things, self-driving automobiles, online shopping, video calls and etc. are the vital services that their infrastructure is the internet. I strongly believe that the internet has a mostly positive effect on human life in today’s modern world due to the fast, easy, and cheap access to the information. Also, the internet provides fast and time-saving communications for the people. The following paragraphs comprehensively explain the reasons.

First and foremost, researchers and students who drive the edge of the science access their needed educational and academic material just by some clicks in several seconds. This ease of access to information accelerates the progress of science. In the past, if a student or a researcher wanted to acquire knowledge about a topic, he had to go to the library or buy his needed material that both were expensive and time-consuming. Also, that procedure was affecting their performance and efficiency adversely. However, these days researchers and students do not encounter such physicals problems in accessing the information. For instance, I remember when I was a high school student, that time the internet was not so widespread. If we wanted to do research on a topic, we had to go to the library of our city or buy the books we needed. Both of them were time-consuming and expensive for us as students. We were so reluctant to do research because of the aforementioned problems. Also, our efficiency was affected by those problems adversely. But, when I went to university, the game changed and the internet was ubiquitous. I became an enthusiastic researcher because of the provided information on the internet easily and cheaply. I published my paper recently that I believe it is a result of the internet in easing the access to information and also making it cheaper. Hence, the internet improves the researchers' and students’ efficiency in developing the modern world.

Secondly, the internet has revolutionized communication. It provides fast, easy, and cheap communication media for people all over the world. In the past, people had to wait for several days for their letters to get their destination. But, these days with the help of E-mail, people can send electronic letters to each other fast and cheaply. With regard to this benefit, the world is more connected than in the past. For instance, when I was applying for my B. Sc. Degree, the admission department wanted all of my document to be sent physically. It took about 1 week before my documents’ package got there. Also, I paid about 20 dollars for its delivery. However, for my M. Sc. Degree, the application process was totally online. So, I could upload all of my documents on the university’s website easily and cheaply. So, I believe that the internet by becoming an infrastructure for easy, fast, and inexpensive communication has affected our lives tremendously in the modern world.

To sum up, I personally agree that the internet has affected our modern world positively. It provides easy, fast, and cheap access to information for the researchers, scientists, and students who work on the development of the modern society. Also, it has made communication more ubiquitous, faster, and cheaper.