Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

“Overall, the widespread use of the internet has a mostly positive effect on life in today's world." Use reasons and details to support your opinion.

It is critically important that we use technology to improve our quality of life. Personally, I believe internet usage has a positive impact on our daily lives. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, nowadays, there are many online universities with courses in various subjects that students can access with just a single click. In the past, when students wanted to learn a topic, they had to go to libraries and took a lot of time to choose an appropriate book. Also, they went to classes far away from their homes, which consumed their energy. These days, however, there are many online courses that pupils can start learning without wasting time. Six years ago, when my friend and I were preparing for the university entrance exam, we applied for extra classes besides school. My friend attended classes in person, and I took part in online courses. When he was in the way of his classes, I could finish my online courses. Because of the timesaving, I could frequently review the subjects I thought about and solve more examples to master the topic. Consequently, I ranked among the top 1% of test-takers on the exam, and he got such poor results that he could not apply to his favorite university.

Furthermore, using the internet as a communication tool can benefit us by making us happier. Nowadays, the internet provides us with ways to chat or have video calls with our family and friends worldwide. This opportunity helps us access our relatives whenever we want it quickly. For instance, I spent the last six years of my life away from my family to gain skills at university. Whenever I feel depressed or lonely, I take a video call with my mother and talk to her about my problems and the obstacles I face. Additionally, I can speak with my little sisters, which cheers me up. As another example, my friend met his girlfriend on Instagram. They have a video call every day, and he wants to move to his girlfriend’s city and marry her. He thinks he has a happier life with her.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that the internet can improve our lives and help us learn and grow into who we want to be. This is because online classes can save us time to learn and practice more, and social media and messengers can get people closer to each other despite their location.