Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People should read only those books that are about real events, real people, and established facts. Use specific reasons and details to support your idea.

It is an indisputable fact that books, whether with a real or fictional subject, always showed the right path to the humankind throughout the history. Some people believe we live in a real world; therefore, the subject of the books has to do with real individuals and events. Although it is a common and logical belief; I subscribe to an idea that reading a non-realistic book helps the people to flourish. There are several reasons which bear in mind, two of which -that is- creativity and ease of mind will be elucidated in following paragraphs.

There are immense number of exquisite and popular books which are written endowed with the imagination of writer, solely. Reading a fictional novel helps people to think beyond the box and even change their attitude about unknown facet of a problem or phenomena. For instance, “From the earth to the moon” by Jules Verne for that time was a book only based on imagination, but for the next generations, this could pave the way for a scientific progress as a driving force. Were any constraints for the mind, the human race would never have been able to invent new technologies. In other word, the major distinct between human and other creatures is this unique ability to think beyond his mind.

Secondly, reading a book, the reader discovers a whole new world with imaginary characters that could be an escape road from the hustle and bustle of modern life. Stresses and rigors of the modern life always oppress people and even make them sick in some cases. A research conducted recently has revealed that reading a book in general and fictional novels in particular bring about ease of mind and avoiding negative thought so much so that it can to be considered as a cure for psychological pains.

In sum, with all this taken into account, reading a fictional book not only resulted in flourishing of the creativity, but brings in peace of mind.