Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People should read only those books that are about real events, real people, and established facts. Use specific reasons and details to support your idea.

It is an indisputable fact that books, whether with a real or fictional subject, always showed the right path to humankind throughout history. Some people believe we live in the real-world; therefore, the subject of the books has to do with real individuals and events. Although it is a common and logical belief; I subscribe to the idea that reading a non-realistic book helps the people to flourish. There are several reasons which bear in mind, two of which -that is- creativity and ease of mind will be elucidated in the following paragraphs.

There are an immense number of exquisite and popular books that are written endowed with the imagination of the writer, solely. Reading a fictional novel helps people to think beyond the box and even change their attitude about an unknown facet of a problem or phenomena. For instance, “From the earth to the moon” by Jules Verne for that time was a book only based on imagination, but for the next generations, this could pave the way for scientific progress as a driving force. Were any constraints for the mind, the human race would never have been able to invent new technologies. In other word, the major distinction between humans and other creatures is this unique ability to think beyond his mind.

Secondly, reading a book, the reader discovers a whole new world with imaginary characters that could be an escape road from the hustle and bustle of modern life. Stresses and rigors of modern life always oppress people and even make them sick in some cases. Research conducted recently has revealed that reading a book in general and fictional novels, in particular, brings about ease of mind and avoiding negative thought so much so that it can be considered as a cure for psychological pains.

In sum, with all this taken into account, reading a fictional book not only resulted in the flourishing of creativity but brings in peace of mind.