Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The personal and work-related challenges that young people face today are not any different from the challenges their parents and grandparents faced when they were young.

Some scientists speculate that the first challenge for humankind was making a fire, while others assert that the priority was to find a safe shelter. Without a shadow of a doubt, Challenges have accompanied humans in the course of history. An unanswered question in this area is whether the challenges for young people is the same as for their former generations or not. Despite the arguments asserting that for different generations, the difficulties remain constant, I vehemently believe otherwise, maintaining that younger generations are bombarded with a wide spectrum of new challenges every day. There are several reasons which bear in mind, two of which -that is- technology and overpopulation will be elucidated in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, the crux of the matter lies in the fact that unprecedented burgeoning of technology in recent decades, which has substantially facilitated human life, came along with new drawbacks. To shed light on this issue, technology in general and the internet and social media, in particular, thoroughly altered human life. As an example, time was when my grandparents were using a telephone- which is completely obsolete these days- to talk with their kin once a month. However, nowadays, thanks to the new technological device, everyday-communication is commonplace. Nevertheless, a vital part of the puzzle is missing. The new technology has brought about challenges that were absent in the last decades. Rising the level of expectations, a strong tendency toward a luxury life, and facing inappropriate content is inevitable demerits of humankind's new inventions. These challenges are non-tangible for the older generation as an issue.

The second worthwhile momentous point, which deserves some words, is that an abrupt boom in the healthcare system and economic conditions lead to overpopulation, a new competition for exploiting limited resources on earth, which has dire consequences. To put another way, according to statistics, in the last centuries, due to the overpopulation, the share of natural resources and opportunities for any human is decreasing at a steep pace. As a result, a heated competition is formed for life. The more the competitors, the harder to get a job, the harder to get money. This factor, per se, could result in a catastrophic future. As an illustration, 30 years ago, when my father wanted to work as a teacher, the government readily hired him due to a shortage of human resources. On the other hand, today, seldom have I could find a job, let alone saving money.

To put it briefly, all the enumerated reasons converge to the point that new challengers for the youth are entirely different compared to challenges for young people in the last decades. Besides the reasons mentioned earlier, technology and overpopulation; However, there are some other reasons and examples, challenging the claim, which is not mentioned above. Undoubtedly, new challenges will emerge in the decades to follow for future generations.