Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? A teacher’s ability to relate well with students is more import than excellent knowledge of the subject being taught. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Besides parents, a teacher plays a guiding role in our life which demands teachers should have some basic qualities such as having a great expert knowledge or building good relationships with their students. Generally speaking, I believe that having an ability to relate really well with students is more important than having excellent knowledge of the course which they taught.

First of all, it is easier to attract students for some teachers who have good relationships with students. Undeniably, students are willing to acquire knowledge if they admire and like their teachers so that communicating and even building friendship with students is very crucial ability for teachers. Students will desire to study in a higher motivation when they relate very well with teachers and they want to impress teachers they really respected. For example, I can recall that my linear algebra teacher is a so great person that his every lecture being very popular in our university and his students struggle to have an excellent grade to make sure that they wouldn’t disappoint him.

In addition, as life tutor, teachers should not only teach students academic knowledge but also can give some useful life advice for students. Hence, building relations with students is very pivotal since that students sometimes will feel confused about life when they leave away from their parents, they need some life guider who have a great relationship with them to help them to solve problems in their life. Taking my experience as an instance, I felt nervous and lonely when I was a freshman at the university. Fortunately, my problem was found by my teacher Lee who is good at relating students so that he encouraged me to join the school club and asked me to do research with his team. Thanks to him, I can go through my hardest time in the college without giving up my college life early. According to my experience, I believe that having an incredibly academic knowledge it is less important than creating a fascinating relationship with students.

In conclusion, this essay discussed that caused students more willing to learn academic knowledge and helped students to solve life problems by some great teachers who are establishing excellent relationships with their students. I’m of the opinion that having an ability to keep a wonderful relationship with a student is becoming indispensable quality for teachers and in most cases, relating well with students is more beneficial than mastering subject knowledge.