Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? A teacher’s ability to relate well with students is more import than excellent knowledge of the subject being taught. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Besides our parents, teachers are arguably the most influential figures guiding us through our formative years. Some believe that having excellent subject knowledge is less import than the way the teacher relates to the students at a personal level. This essay will discuss why it is, in fact, a teacher’s ability to relate well with his or her students that is more important than subject matter expertise.

Contrary to the belief that teachers need to be experts in their subjects, evidence shows that students actually learn more when they like their teacher. We want to impress people we like. So when student likes a teacher, they also want the teacher to like them. For example, evidence shows that this is linked to longer attention spans an to higher levels of student motivation. So, having a teacher they like, means that students will put in the effort to make sure they don’t disappoint their teacher.

Secondly, students feel more comfortable with a teacher they can relate to and therefore, they will be more open to learning. Further evidence for this is that teachers are not just there to impart academic knowledge, but also to support their student’s mental and emotional development. For instance, teachers who relate well to their students will be more successful in reaching their students on a deeper level as students will be more willing to approach them if they have an academic or personal problem. This supports the idea that the best learning happens in a supportive environment. Therefore, providing this is more important than expert knowledge.

This essay discussed how a well liked teacher can improve educational performance, open students up to learning more and make learning more enjoyable. In conclusion, in my view, when it comes to teachers, knowledge is subordinate to the real teaching skill which is being personable and likeable.