Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Is it true for teachers to make their social or political views known to students in the classroom? When it comes to the question of being known or not, the answers differ considerably from individual and individual. Some are adamant that it would restrict students' views when they know the views from teachers, while others hold squarely opposite statements. Both of the counter statements appear to be convincing and stand to reason, yet my personal experience and real-life observations have lead me to conclude that avoid being known to students should be a suitable behavior. More reasons and examples are shed light on as follows.

To begin with, teachers' role is to cultivate student's ability to consider independently to the issues, and not being known to students about views is beneficial to cultivate. To be more specific, teachers should avoid stating their social and political views to their students in the classroom, because students' recognition is probably restricted by these views. For example, when the teacher leads their students to discuss whether the government should use nuclear power and she expresses her own opinion on this issue, students who are still incapable of independent thinking might see the teacher's view as their own views. On the other hand, if the teacher only stands in the leading role to encourage students to think independently, students can learn independent thinking. Then, they will not be affected by other fake opinions or illogical statements which are widespread in this information explosion era.

In addition, it is essential for teachers to stand on the neutral side to any kind of issue in the classroom, and camouflaging their own perspectives can make them be more suitable to pretend this role. That is to say, when students ask the teacher his or her opinion on social or political issues in class, it is not appropriate to state his own view. For instance, the same-sexual marriage issue is controversial in society. If teachers state that they do not support homosexual people marry together, students who are not sophisticated probably mock and bully those homosexual students. However, if the teacher rejects to answer the question from students, they will not know what is the teacher's view. Thus, it can decrease the possibility of bullying and discrimination in the classroom.

In conclusion, avoiding expressing teachers' perspectives to students is pivotal. That is, since teachers' role of cultivating students to think independently and standing in a neutral place, making their social or political not known to students in the classroom is necessary.