Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no denying fact that advertising is a hot issue which is much talked about by people across the world. Advertisers usually aim their marketing at children who are not in the position of discriminating against right and wrong, and that is why its legality has been called in to question. From my perspective, this kind of advertising which manipulates children at low ages should be strictly controlled by the government and not be allowed in most of the cases. I will delve into my most prominent reasons for this viewpoint in the following essay.

The main reason for my disagreement toward this kind of advertising is that it could possibly mislead a young audience. When children aged two to five are exposed to the fantasy images designed by specialized people on television, they would easily believe them as something real and pleasing; therefore, they put pressure on their parents to buy them the things they might not need at all. To illustrate this, there is an example that is very persuasive. Imagine a child who spends most of the day in front of the screen and observes these deceiving images. Not surprisingly, this child accepts whatever seems cute and lovely so will insist on wanting this favorable product which is not necessary for him or her to have so, it imposes a financial burden on the parents who cannot afford to buy whatever their children want at the time.

Secondly, advertising persuades us to follow the latest trend which might contribute to a consumer culture that wastes a lot of fundamental resources of any country. let us see an example; when advertisers have the right to influence young children, and they become able to do it successfully, the demand for such products related to the children will increase, and it results in exploiting the natural resources and fossil fuels unnecessarily.

In a word, although advertising can be considered as a key part of the modern business that employs many people, the consequences of this industry should not be avoided; especially, when it comes to its effects on children at low ages.