Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Universities and colleges can form student’s character and have profound impacts in their future life. I strongly agree that universities and colleges should pay attention to sports and social activities besides educational ones, because these programs has significant benefits in student personal and social life.

The first reason behind the advantages of it, is presented in a study that was done in Oxford University. According to the study, the average score of students who had done one kind of sports along with their studies is 30 percent more than the average score of ones who had not. Positive effect of doing sports on mental and physical conditions was explained as its reason. Also sports activities aid students in being more creative, focused and memorizing details that these are necessary skills to deal with difficulties in their personal life.

Secondly, participating in social and sports activities help student not to have one-track minded. In other words, by taking apart in non-educational activities, students have an opportunity to learn a skill that how further and manage two or more activities together without being confused. Michael Nicolson, educational expert in Wilson College, says that “people who can properly handle more than one thing at a time are successful not only in their social life as a manager or clerk but also in their personal life as a wife, mother or father.”

In conclusion, according to above-mentioned reasons, I deeply believe that universities and colleges should plan different kinds of activity except educational ones and support them financially because they have positive effects on student’s personal and social life.