Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

There is no denying fact that in a modern world lifestyle has revolutionized and is completely different from its past. There are definitely distinct advantages and disadvantaged for this process but, the fact that our lives have changed in diverse aspects is indisputable. I strongly believe that in today's world young people depend less on their parents to make decisions and they are more influenced by their close friends and different media like internet which has absolutely had a major effect on our dependency. In the following essay, I will delve into my most prominent reasons for this viewpoint.

First of all, let us consider the close relationship between the families who lived in earlier generations. To be frank, we all have heard from older people how much they used to respect their parents, and they were not allowed to choose without asking their opinion about any single thing. Most of the times the young boys could not even choose their marriage partner and their field of interest for having a job. For instance, They often had to follow their paternal occupation.

Furthermore, no one can avoid the influence of modern technology in nearly all aspects of our lives. The internet which now has become a fundamental part of anyone's life, was not available those days. Not surprisingly, the wide range in which it can help us to solve any problem has resulted in more autonomous young adults whose decisions are no longer influenced by their parents. Nowadays, we can search for every single thing that comes to our mind and see the reliable results in a few seconds. It provides us a chance to read others experiences about the same issue, and to decide more conveniently.

In a word, we live in an interdependent world which has completely changed in a way that we see far more self-made young adults who are more likely to depend on their own abilities and choose by their own knowledge and the great help of technology.