Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to use land for human needs than to use land for saving endangered animals.

It is said that the earth is undergoing the 6th mass extinction when people are trying to meet their demands at the expense of many rare animals' life. It is obvious that if this situation is continuing without any constraint, human would be the next victim due to the unlimited exploitation. Hence, I am of the opinion that we must conserve land for endangered species.

First, maintaining the natural diversity of earth is necessary for next generation as people will suffer from the disaster brought by the imbalanced food chain, such as famine. This is especially in the case of significant decreasing of honey bees worldwide recently, which served a pivotal role in helping farmers pollinating crops. As the exploitation of forest done by human due to the need of land for cultivation and living is increasing, on the flip side, this also decreases the living places for honey bees. However, it is an undeniable fact that human could not survive without the existence of honey bees. As a result, we should support endangered species to protect our posterity.

Second, government spends a considerable amount of public money in animal conservation every year; however, if we left enough habitats for animal at first, we could save a large amount of money and use it in other sectors of public service such as education, medication and transportation, which are also in dire need of more funding. Not to mention, natural habitats are far more suitable for wild animals than man-made habitat. Therefore, preserving habitats for animals would be a better choice than using for human needs.

Last, many people think that it would be a waste of resources to let animals use lands instead of developing by human since overpopulation has become a serious issue. However, it would be wise for us to use lands we currently have as opposed to exploit new lands since unlimited exploitations have caused some damages to earth such as global warming. Not to mention, global warming result from wanton destruction of the environment causes a series of changeable consequences that let many people become homeless. Unlike human, animals know how to coexist with the mother planet.

To surmise, in spite of people are currently in need for more land resources, we should not do it at the cost of endangered species’ life. We should change how we deal with the environment so as to protect endangered animals and coexist with them in the long run.