It is more important to keep your old friend than it is to make new friends.

Throughout entire life, we meet lots of different kinds of people at different period. Hence, we have both new friends and old friends, which have their own features. Personally, I believe that the benefit of keeping old friend far outweigh than making new friend. But we should also make new friend at the same time.

One important aspect of keeping old friend is that personality of old friend has been proven by time. We trust people that we believe who are reliable and earnest. We get through every circumstance with old friend. In each circumstance, we realize more about them, since we can observe their reaction toward unexpected situations and how they tackle with it. By contrast, new friends always demonstrate their best side at the beginning. What is worse is that they might get along with you because of some intentions.

Another equally important thing about keeping old friend is that it is more efficient to work or talk with your old friend. People usually talk with new friend in a polite manner as we care other’s feeling and we are afraid of offending them. Yet, it is this concern that causes inefficient communication between people. It is undeniable that we can express our idea and opinion more directly when we are familiar with the listener.

On the other hand, making new friend is still extremely significant if we want to continue with maintaining the number of our old friends. It is inevitable that the busy schedule would limit us to keep in touch with old friend. With acquainting new people, we can make up the loss of old friends. It should be also noted that new friends could bring different new stories into your life, which is a good chance to broaden our horizons. Nowadays, we have more opportunities to meet people from other countries. Hence, this trend allows to understand other culture from all over the world without going abroad.

In the light of the above-mentioned arguments. There is no denying that the advantages of keeping old friend is obvious. Moreover, making new friend can be a good method for dealing with the shortage of old friends. Other than that, protect our relationship with old friend is definitely the first priority.