students should choose a university major that prepares them for high paying careers

Nowadays, many students tend to choose a major which is related to high-paying career. The main problem associated with this trend is that students might not fit for that major and end up suspending from university. I think that every major has its advantages, so the priority is for students to choose a major which they might want to study for many years. Therefore, I am of the opinion that students should pick a major which is what they really keen for rather than simply focus on the paychecks.

To begin, it is unquestionable that enthusiasm is a key factor contributing to the success. The idea lies in the fact that people incline to do what they want to do rather than what they asked to do. Imagine a person chooses a major that is not what he really wants. Then, when he faces with problems, he definitely could not persist on since without the enthusiasm it is bound to fail. It is hard for a person to accomplish any task when he does not enjoy what he is working on.

For another thing, with the rapid development of technology and industry, a high-paying job might not still have its superiority in the near future. To illustrate this, one important factor that many students cannot predict is the rapidly changing market conditions. Some industry may affect by unexpected factors, such as government's new policy or international situation, ending up relocating to other country. It should also be noted that students might even faces a situation of oversupply of workers when so many students with same major graduating at the same time.

Last, if every student only chooses some specific majors, society will faces a shortage of the experts in many pivotal sectors, such as cultural preservation and environmental protection. Therefore, to make sure human have balanced development in every domain, we should realize that we have to keep up the number of students in every major.

In conclusion, although students might be tempted by a major which could have higher paycheck in the future, it is wise for them to pick a major that they would like to get along with year after year.