Students should go to college and university right after high school graduation.

After graduating from high school, some students might decide to take a gap year which allowing them to understand their interests and broaden their horizons. It might seem like this gap year can help them to planning their future more easily. However, I am of the opinion that going to college right after graduation is better.

To begin with, students do not have to waste extra time to review what they learned during high school days. The idea lies in the fact that many people think the knowledge leaned from school is not important; however, this is wrong. Having a good understanding of basis knowledge, it makes students to study advanced expertise or do the research more easily. Suppose that a student takes a gap year, he might acquire some unique experiences that other students do not have. Yet, he will have to review subjects before entering the college in order to catch up his peers.

Second, it is worth mentioning that students can still learn hands-on experience while they are in college by taking an internship. Unlike some people's claim that students can only learn some practical experience outside the school such as organizational skills or social intercourse, they forgot that universities provide large amounts of internships for students. Internships enable students to put what they learn in to practice, not to mention this is always a good opportunity for students to expand their connections.

Lastly, although some of the students think that taking a rest before entering college can help them understand what their interests are, I believe that what students experience during gap year is only the surface of the society. For example, they might realize that they have an interest on economics during engaging in activities; however, after they choose economics as major, the complicated theory behind it might not be what they want. Therefore, it is inevitable that students can only realize that whether they love the subjects or not after studying it.

In the light of the above-mentioned arguments, I am convinced that it is just a waste of students' time for them to take a break before entering college. Meanwhile, it is unquestionable that going to college can fulfill what they peruse from taking a gap year.