Essay topics: Is the ability to read and write more important today than in the past?

To succeed in life people need to be sharp at various techniques, among those, reading and writing are the most important. Many people maintain that reading and writing play a pivotal role in modern life, with which I totally agree. I strongly support this view because those essential skills equip people a stronger foundation to learn new knowledge and skills. Secondly, good at writing and reading will also pave the way for us to have a better job in an increasingly competitive labor market. In addition, those skills help people follow correct legal procedures and avoid illegal activities.

First and foremost, modern life and knowledge-based economy require people to have a strong background in terms of educational background and skills. Writing and reading fluently is the shortest way to increase one educational foundation. Undeniable, al accumulated knowledge of society is expressed in a mean called language. If one cannot read, it would be very difficult to strengthen his or her own educational vault. For instance, if we want to learn a particular subject, says mathematics, but we are not able to read math language, such as formula, notations, we will not understand what the subject is about. In addition, is important writing, it is only the method of expressing our idea in a formal way, but also an effective communication means between people in the same field. For the above reasons, I would agree with the view that writing and reading are more important today.

Secondly, finding a good job is always the ultimate goal of people. A good job will have us a better life, a good family and a great backup when we got suffered from unexpected events. With the fast increase of high technology, employers nowadays require employees to have more and more advanced skills, which may not be learned from universities or job training schools, but from self-studying. To adapt to higher requirements, one needs to update his or her knowledge and skills regularly. To do so, reading and writing are more, if not most, important in gaining competitive edges and win a competition. Furthermore, reading and writing also assist employees to review their contracts and negotiate better with employers. Thus, I believe writing and reading play a more important role day than in the past.

Last but not least, following correct procedures will help people avoid unnecessary legal matters. It is true that we have to follow regulations in every aspect of life. For example, if we enroll in a college, we have to comply with the institution’s regulations. The pattern is the same when we work, we have to obey labor laws and regulations of government. To avoid any legal problems, we should have a good ability to read published documents from lawmakers. Reading only is not enough, the ability to write unambiguously will also advance our chances when we have to handle problems regarding legal or litigation issues. Having said that, I would endorse the view in the prompt.

In conclusion, writing and reading are more and more important today because they help people strengthen the educational foundation, find a good job to improve life quality, and avoid any unnecessary legal problems. Although some ppeople might have an opposite view, I strongly support the idea that writing and reading play important roles in modern life.