Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Telephones and email have made communication between people less personal. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Nowadays people have various ways to communicate with each other, among those, the most popular one is telephones and email. The issue at hand is some people may say telephones and email make communication between people less personal, however, I disagree. In my opinion, as a personal belonging, telephones and email offer a better method to connect people as well as allow people to efficiently express their emotion. Furthermore, they can ameliorate our long distance relationships and provide us the ability to customize embedded functions to a more personal mode.

First, each phone number and each email address represent for a particular person. And like the mailing address, phone number and email address are the personal belongings that be controlled by the only one owner. This means using those personal belongings represent the owner in their communication. For example, when you receive a call, looking at the calling number you can tell who is he or she and the number recall in your mind that person’s characteristic. Because of that, I think that connecting through telephones and email help people contact easier and without sacrificing their personal characteristics.

Second, eliminating the distance of time and space, telephones and email enable people to connect promptly and more effectively. Now, they can share their opinions or feelings about an issue in a blink. Instead of driving hours to meet each other to discuss a thing, they can make an instant call to chat directly. Also, it is possible to understand people's emotion and characteristics through their voice or their writing style. For example, today numerous company successfully interview their applicants through the telephone. By experience, the interviewee can exactly judge the interviewer. Based on this argument, I strongly support the opinion that using telephones and email provide people efficient means of personal communications.

Last but not least, with the development of technology, people have more tools added in the phone and email to make the communication more personal. In the email, there are many options for choosing the letter fonts, paragraph format styles or adding icon emotions to express human’s emotion and style. Similarly, through the video call applications, people not only hear the voice but also visual the face of others. For instance, I work in the city while my parents live in the suburban, we still see each other every day through the video-call. It seems we are never apart. Thus, by tailoring embedded functions, we can make use of telephones and email in the most efficient way and improve our life quality.

In conclusion, although it is better to see each other in person in some instant, this does not mean using modern communication methods like telephones and email will less personal communication. Instead, I strongly believe in the opinion that, as the personal belongings with outstanding advantages, which developed over time parallel with the developed in technology, modern communication methods provide a more efficient way to connect people at the same time maintain their personal communication.