Is the ability to read and write more important today than in the past?

To succeed in life people need to be sharp at various techniques, among those, reading and writting are the most important. The issue at hand is many people say the ability to read and write is more important today than in the pást, as my concerned, I totally agree with this opinion. To support, I will evaluate the role of those skills in people’s daily life, the role of those skills in enhancing people's life quality and the opportunities to get sharpen those skills in this present time compare to the past.

First, in the present time, reading and writting skills play a very important role in people’s daily activities. Most of things are written down in letters and numbers called languge. In studying, in work, and even in entertaining, people always use the ability to read and write those papers to finish their jobs. The small children do their classwork and homework with the basic letters and numbers. The adults accomplish their job with tons of documents, papers, numbers. Even the people playing games still need to read the instruction, the rules of game, and write down the results of the game. And the sharper people at ability to read and write, the faster they reach their target. On the contrary, the people in the past did most their job by hand, and things are presented through symbols and pictures not the language, so they đi not use much the reading and writting skills like present people. Because of that, I think that ability to read and write play a more important role today than in the past.

Second, today, expert at reading and writting brings great chances for people to improve their life quality. A professor who has advanced those skills are paid higher than a worker who has basic those skills. Because of this fact, people who want to enhanced their quality of life have to enhanced their ability to read and write first. Looking back in the past, most of people did not care much about learn how to read and write and they also did not consider ability to read and write as a option to better their life. Base on this argument, I strongly support the opinion that reading and writing skills are more essential in the present than in the past.

Last but not least, compare to the past, people today have more opportunities to learn, practice and sharpen their ability to read and write. In the past, learning how to read and write was a special rights of the wealthy people. However, today, every single person has the right to learn reading and writing. For example, most the children at six years old are taught to read the simple books and to write the simple sentences. Youth and adults have a lot of choices where to study among a vast of schools, institutions, learning centers, etc. Thus, I firmly assist that, today people value the role of reading and writing more than in the past.

In conclusion, it is normal to exist gaps between the different periods of time because of nonstop development in all the sections of human life. Take the consideration about the ability to read and write, I completely agree with the opinion that reading and writing ability is more important today than in the past.