Essay topics: TPO-46 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.

There are so many famous people with various ideas and notions. In other words, fame has brought many people the position to state their opinions publically and receiving some advocates from the public. But, whether everyone in a society value these opinions is a matter of controversy. In my point of view, I suppose such opinions are more important to youngsters than to the old people simply because the elderly are much more experienced and are not as much exposed to these ideas. In other words, I strongly agree with the statement in the question.

To commence, often the elderly do not keep track of the opinions and statements of the celebrities and consequently, they do not value these notions once they hear about them. Generally speaking, there are lots of ways in which young people follow the celebrities such as their clothing style, their haircut, and their ideas. Besides, there are numerous ways that youngsters get information about famous entertainers and athletes, take Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook for example. Through their new life, the young are exposed to many statements coming from celebrities and therefore these opinions have become so crucial to young-aged people these days.

Secondly, the older people are far more experienced than the young, making them think more logically. Actually, they only accept logical reasoning, they do not get emotional, and they can distinguish whether a stated opinion is made out of flawless justifications or just is due to momentarily feelings. Besides, they value social notions only when they hear it from those in charge: politicians, economists, or sociologists. To the contrary, the young may not even know anything about politicians and the only thoughts they get informed about are the celebrities'. In comparison to the young, being more aged and thus more experienced, makes the elderly not valuing the celebrities' point of view.

To sum up, old people are not as interested as the young in celebrities' opinions and notions. This could be explained not only because the elderly are not exposed to these thoughts as much as the young are, but they are also far more experienced and know to whom they can trust. Thus, in my opinion, celebrities point of view in not as important to the elderly as it is to the young.